Chocolate Chip Cookies

On Monday I had that “I have to bake something” urge. After some thinking I decided on chocolate chip cookies. I looked up some recipes on Pinterest (my source of pretty much everything) and eventually ended up on website of some lady from my country.

Here’s the recipe.

You’ll need:
142 g plain flour (or all-purpose flour)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
113 g butter
90 g sugar
90 g brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
100 g chocolate chips (or chopped chocolate) + some extra chocolate to sprinkle the surface of the cookies

You’ll get cca 18 big cookies.

Preheat the oven to 175°C. Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt well in a bowl. Now you need to take another bowl and whip butter with all the sugar up. I used hand mixer, but an fork or whisk will do the same job. Add egg and vanilla extract and whip it up again. Now it’s time to mix everything – add dry mixture to the other bowl. Make sure you phase it and always mix it in

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Notice that there are no visible chocolate chips – next try I sprinkled cookies with extra chocolate while baking!

between.
Final step is to add chocolate chips (or chopped chocolate, if you don’t have any chocolate chips). I used my younger sister for this part. I, meanwhile, did the dishes. If you used hand mixer before use fork or whisk now.

The dough should be really thick, or it will melt when you put it in the oven. This actually happened to me, because I added two eggs instead of one and my cookies turned into gigantic flat beasts. Me and my sister were sitting in front of the oven, singing songs from High School Musical and watching cookie dough transforming into one enormous flat cookie. This can be fortunately easily fixed by adding some extra flour to the rest of the dough.

Grab a tablespoon and use it to put dough on baking tray (use baking paper!). The cookie dough will expand a lot, so don’t overdo it!
Bake for cca 10 minutes in total and sprinkle them with chocolate after 3-5 minutes of baking. (The sprinkle step is optional, but you won’t end up with visible chocolate chip surface)
Cookies should be brownish colour. When you take them out they’ll be rather jelly than crunchy, but don’t worry about it. Leave them for a couple of minutes and they’ll be ready to eat.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a comment

