What’s in my makeup bag | Makeup Review

When I was younger, I wasn‘t interested in makeup whatsoever. I was rather boy-like girl – All I ever put on was a pair of jeans and any of my boring T-shirts, makeup was a waste of time, skirts and tights were something unacceptable for me and all love stories were lies. As I was slowly growing up, I abandoned some of these „rules“. I started using concealer (because puberty – spots and pimples all over my face), later even mascara. Then I started using face powder, eyeshadows, and so on and so on. And now I’m here, with makeup bag full of goodies.


NOTE: Firstly I want to apologize for not releasing this post on time. It was promised to be out on Thursday, June 23rd, but I had literally no time to write it. I wasn’t home for the whole week and at first I thought “Haha, that’s easy peasy – I can post it on time!”, but I failed. Extra apologies to wondervonnie, who was very pumped about this and I kept her waiting for such a long time.


I don’t wear makeup to make myself prettier or cover my face to hide its ugliness. I am comfortable with what I look like and I like my face with or without makeup. I do it because I enjoy it. I enjoy the process of doing my makeup. And when you enjoy something, you also want to be good at it, so I quit cheap low-quality brands and started buying finer ones. Now I like to say that I’m pretty good at makeup and I know stuff.

There are many products to show you, because since I have large makeup bag (read about it here), I have a lot to stuff in. This is going to be a long post, so grab something to eat and drink and let’s do this!

REMEMBER: The prices are approximate.

Makeup bag
My new makeup bag has three storage areas: one small pocket, space for makeup brushes and main area.

 

Small pocket

Small pocket

In this small pocket secured with a zipper you can find some of the essentials and must haves:

  • tweezers
  • duo sharpener (Essence; €1)
  • black bobby pins
  • old contact lenses case to storage travel amount of foundation
  • eyeshadow applicator; I use it to smudge kajal pencil line so it doesn’t look so harsh

 

makeup brushes storage area

Brushes
From the left: lip brush, eyeshadow brush, makeup brush, blush brush, eyeshadow brush, duo blending + lining brush

lip brush, eyeshadow brush

I don’t even know where I got them. They are not the best quality and I use them only occasionally.

 

makeup brush

Brand: For Your Beauty (Rossmann brand)
Price: €4.49
Rating: 8/10
I used to use this one before I bought makeup sponges. It’s good quality and though it’s flat, it blends foundation very nicely. However, many people don’t like this type of brush (flat) and they prefer the round one. I tried both of them and I don’t mind using any of these.

 

blush brush

Brand: Catrice Cosmetics
Price: €3.99
Rating: 9/10
This black brush is supposed to be for blush, but I use it for contouring as well, because I don’t own any extra brushes for this. (Yet.) Although it’s a blush brush, it doesn’t have the typical slanting shape of blush brushes. The bristles in total are very narrow and that makes it good for applying bronzer to your cheek hollows and adding some highlight as well. However, I’m considering buying another blush brush, because my highlighter is starting to turn colour from my bronzer as I use the same brush for both of them.

 

eyeshadow brush

Brand: For Your Beauty (Rossmann brand)
Price: €3
Rating: 10/10
I bought this one because I realized I wasn’t satisfied with eyeshadow applicators. The bristles are really soft, they don’t itch your eyes. It’s quite cheap, but also good quality. Again, I’m considering buying another one, because I want to use one for light colours and the other one for darker colours. That’s because I don’t have time to wash it every day and I can recognise that the darker colours are interrupting the light ones and I don’t get the full shade, but a mixture of two.

 

blending brush

Brand: Ebelin (DM Drogerie Markt brand)
Price: €2.95
Rating: 10/10
This is a duo blending and lining brush. I was deciding between this one and a bigger blending brush, but I liked the duo concept more. Maybe I’m going to buy the bigger one as well. The bristles are very soft and gentle to your skin. I really love it, both sides of the brush are fulfilling their purpose. I’m curious about the bigger one, though.

 

main storage area

Face powder brush

Face powder brush

Rating: 10/10
I got this one (and the kabuki brush as well) as a gift and there is no sign of the brand, so unfortunately I can’t provide you with brand and price information.
This one along with my kabuki brush I can’t storage with the rest of the brushes, because they can’t be fit in the elastic bands made for storing the brushes.
It’s bristles are even softer than any of my other brushes. I like that it’s quite small and I can easily fit it in my travel makeup bag (well, it’s a pencil-case with ponies on it, haha).

 

Kabuki brush

Kabuki brush

Rating: 10/10
Again, this one was a gift, so no brand, no price.
This one is a bit harder to the touch, but still soft enough not to itch your skin. I use it to apply bronzer all over my face, but the most of it goes to my jaw line, temples and the forehead. I love it so much, it blends the product very well and it’s also nice and gentle to your skin.

 

lipliners

Lipliners

Brand: Essence
Shade: 08 Red Blush, 14 Femme Fatale
Price: €2 each
Rating: 6/10
These two are the only lipliners I own. I don’t use them anymore, because I improved my lipstick applying skills and I don’t need to line my lips. I must say that the 08 Red Blush one goes well with the 04 On the Catwalk! Essence lipstick and I used it a lot together. It’s not the same shade, though. I’d say the lipliner is a bit darker than the lipstick, but it makes a little bit of nice ombre effect.
The second one, 14 Femme Fatale, I used with any bright red lipstick, because (and especially this one) bright colours like to smudge during the day. I used it as a “beginner help” to apply red lipstick flawlessly.

The flaw of these two products is that the colour fades away and you have to make sure you renew the line.

 

make-up starter

Make-Up Starter

Brand: Nivea
Price: €5
Rating: 8/10
I ran out of my face cream and I also didn’t own any primer, so I thought it was a good idea to buy both primer and face cream in one product. I love that it doesn’t make your skin oily, it dries very quickly and makes your skin soft and lovely. I would definitely buy it again as a face cream, but I’m not completely sure about its primer qualities. I have never used a primer before, so I don’t quite know what to expect. I’d say there’s a little bit of difference in the appearance of your makeup with and without it, especially after whole day of wearing it.
Beside this cream I use also Nivea Soft cream, which smells amazing and feels amazing on your face. That is why I’m probably going to buy a real primer and use Nivea Soft as a face cream. Since the only primer I ever used is this Make-up Starter, I want to explore the world of primers a little bit. If you have any recommendations, let me know in the comments.

 

magix prime and set spray

MagiX Prime and Set spray

Brand: Avon
Price: €8
Rating: 9/10
I have thought about buying this since last December, because I find it very useful, especially if you are out for the whole day and there’s no chance you can get home and freshen up your makeup. It works very well, my makeup stays untouched all day and it doesn’t get cakey. The only thing about this spray that quite surprised me when I used it for the first time, was the texture. I expected it to be mist, but it’s rather watery when you spray it on. Don’t worry, it dries right away, but make sure you don’t use too much of it otherwise it is visible and in that case you have to use a tissue paper and dry it a little. (No big deal, but it frightened me a little when this happened.) Would definitely buy again.

 

mattitude anti shine powder

Mattitude Anti Shine Powder

Brand: Astor
Shade: 001 Ivory
Price: €4.4
Rating: 6/10
Normally I use Stay Matte Pressed Powder by Rimmel London, but last time I felt like trying something different. I am satisfied with the matte finish it gives you. It’s very good quality and you can use it even without makeup – it works good and mattifies your face very well. It’s suitable for normal to oily skin. It smells nice and lasts very long. Still, I won’t buy it again, because somehow this shade isn’t the right one for me. I always use the lightest one and although this one is the lightest, it’s still too dark for my face and it makes my face darker than the rest of my body. And nobody wants to have dark face and light neck, am I right?

 

Multi matt blush

Multi Matt Blush

Multi Matt Blush

Brand: Catrice Cosmetics
Shade: 020 La-Lavender
Price: €4.4
Rating: 10/10
My god. This is just heaven. This Multi Matt Blush is the best blush I’ve ever tried. I love that it’s matt so it doesn’t make my skin sparkle like a cupcake. I almost got the other shade (they’ve got only two of them), which is 010 Love, Rosie!, because my skin is quite pale and I figured out that the darker shade wouldn’t suit me. But. That day I went shopping with wondervonnie and she persuaded me into buying the darker one, because “the colour is more interesting”. Well of course I bought it, because when she tells me something’s going to suit me, she is always right. (That’s her superpower, haha.) I’m glad I bought it. IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL. However, I figured out I have to be very careful about the amount of product on my brush, because the colour is very bold.

 

eyeshadow primer

Eyeshadow primer

Brand: Avon
Shade: light beige
Price: €8.5
Rating: 10/10
The reason I bought this was more my curiosity than need. Vonnie bought this primer before and said it worked very well for her and so does for me. It’s in light beige, so it adds some healthiness to your eyelids. The texture is creamy, it blends easily and it’s also very gentle to your skin. Thanks to this product your eyeshadow lasts all day and doesn’t fade away.

 

Magnif’eyes double ended shadow + liner

Magnif'Eyes Double Ended Shadow + Liner

Magnif'Eyes Double Ended Shadow + Liner

Brand: Rimmel London
Shade: Kissed By a Rose Gold
Price: €8.9
Rating: 10/10
I knew I wanted this ever since it came out, but I was like „Nah, it’s too expensive and I need other stuff.“. But then I needed to pay back the generosity of vonnie, who helped me a lot during the week before finals. I knew she wanted the product as well and we even agreed on two shades, which we liked the most. I decided to buy her one of those shades. But I was unsure which one she’d like more, so I bought both of them and figured out that I just need to let her choose and keep the other one. (She chose the shade Queens of a Bronzed Age, which has brown eyeshadow and light goldenish eyeliner.) I am completely stunned by the quality of this product. It says it’s waterproof and my god, I can’t even get it off with cleansers for waterproof makeup. It doesn’t smudge or fade away at all, it has super-bold colour and it’s just perfect. I use it especially for creating a sparkly boho look, which I’ll be showing in a tutorial post soon.

 

Illuminating palette

Illuminating Palette

Illuminating Palette

Brand: Dermacol
Price: €9.4
Rating: 10/10
If it wouldn’t be for my friend’s mother, I wouldn’t even know this miracle existed. Fun fact: the friend I’m talking about (no, it’s not vonnie) actually got this for birthday (or passing finals successfully, I don’t recall) along with other makeup product – the fun fact is, that she isn’t interested in makeup, doesn’t know almost anything about it and uses only foundation, sometimes a mascara. She brought all these products she got to sleepover which took place in my house. All three of us then did makeup to the other one.

That was the time I discovered the existence of this product. Me and vonnie were all thrilled about it. It has two shades – the upper one has a heart ornament and is larger. I would use it for day makeup, because it’s light and gives your face nice delicate glow. On the other hand the lower one is more harsh and a lot more visible than the other one. This one would be good in the evening or even at night.
Another idea is that you can apply the upper one all over your face to give it nice glow and then apply the lower to areas you want to highlight.

 

Natural bronzer

Natural Bronzer

Natural Bronzer

Brand: Rimmel London
Shade: 021 Sun Light
Price: €7.4
Rating: 10/10
Firstly let’s just take a minute to appreciate the scent of this product. I mean, OH MY GOD, this smells good. It’s like a very pleasant sweet fresh soap-like scent. I don’t know about you, but it’s quite important for me to like the smell of a makeup product. I think you liking the scent is an important aspect when you consider buying the thing.

This bronzing powder has two qualities that I find very useful: 1) it’s waterproof, 2) it has SPF 15. I haven’t tested the waterproofness yet, but if it works, you can go swimming with friends looking sun-kissed even in the water. The SPF part is inherent in makeup products which you use in summer, because they make sure you won’t burn your face.

I just love it. The shade is perfect for my skin tone, it blends easily and lasts quite long – in fact whole day.

 

Essential Shimmers Eyeshadow Palette

Essential Shimmers Eyeshadow Palette

Essential Shimmers Eyeshadow Palette

Brand: Makeup Revolution
Shade: Essential Shimmers
Price: €7
Rating: 10/10
This is one of the many eyeshadow palettes sold by the brand Makeup Revolution.  I like this brand, because their products are very affordable and also quite good quality. I love most of the goods, especially I ♥ MAKEUP collection – there are some pretty bits and pieces; and then majority of their eyeshadow palettes, because they choose beautiful shades which I would definitely wear.

The colours in this palette are just so “me” and I use every single one of them. I have green eyes and that means I should use rather shades of purple, but I just love browns. (Nevertheless I’m still planning to buy a palette with purple shades, because we need them eyes to pop out, don’t we.) They all are shimmery, well pigmented and they last very long time. I’d say it’s a very good option for people like me – searching for good quality but don’t want to pay hundreds of € for it. The only thing I’ll never use is the applicator, because I prefer brushes.

 

maximum definition volume mascara

Maximum Definition Mascara

Maximum Definition Mascara

Brand: Essence
Price: €3.3
Rating: 8/10
This was the first mascara I bought by myself. It was mostly because I didn’t have much money to spend on makeup. I am the (lucky?) person, who has long eyelashes which just happen to curl themselves only by using mascara. I don’t need to use any lash curler and frankly I am very grateful for it, because I’ve tried it once and I almost plucked all of my eyelashes. Never touching that thing again.

But anyway, why am I telling you this. This is actually quite good mascara for a person, who has this type of eyelashes. I don’t know how it works for someone, who has a small amount of them, or needs to curl them or so. However, for me it works well. It creates you natural tinted lashes, it doesn’t leave bits and it also does a good job in brushing the lashes. I’d say it’s a decent mascara which is affordable by everyone. If you are looking for something, what makes your lashes bold and adds them volume, though, this isn’t the right choice for you.

 

magnum maximum volume mascara

Magnum Mascara

Magnum Mascara

Brand: Dermacol
Price: €7.4
Rating: 6/10
I haven’t actually bought this – my mom did, but she wasn’t satisfied with the product, so she gave it to me. I must say I have mixed feelings about this.
Firstly, it definitely gives your eyelashes the volume. The bad thing about it is that it gives you too much volume – it applies too much of the paint and leaves you with something what I believe is called spider effect with bits in it. This wasn’t much of a problem for me, though, because I simply fixed it by brushing them through with a dried out mascara. The actual problem was the fact that the mascara left stains under and above my eyes, which can be annoying, especially when you need to hurry up or you’ll be late for bus.
Conclusion: It gives you nice volume, but you’ll probably need to brush your lashes with another mascara. I cannot manipulate with it as well as with the Essence mascara. Leaves stains where it shouldn’t. I don’t think I’m going to buy it.

 

lash sensational mascara

Lash Sensational Mascara

Lash Sensational Mascara

Brand: Maybelline New York
Price: €8
Rating: 10/10
This mascara is adored by many of my friends or people I know. I bought it the other day (one reason was the sale), because I ran out of the Magnum mascara and Essence I am keeping just to brush my eyelashes, because it dried out a long time ago as well. And since everyone loves it, I went for it.

I must say, wow. It took my few minutes to figure out how to deal with the curved applicator, but after that I just looked at myself, thinking “I look good”. This mascara gives you so much volume and doesn’t leave bits or spider effect. And even if you apply it badly, there’s a little comb thing in the inner part of the curve, which is to be used for brushing the lashes. And eve though my lashes are naturally curved, this gives them some extra curving, so I look like a doll with huge amount of eyelashes. I love it so much.

 

mineral powder foundation

Mineral Powder Foundation

Mineral Powder Foundation

Brand: Mary Kay
Shade: Ivory 2
Price: €25
Rating: 9/10
My aunt gave me this product, because the shade was too light for her. Well, guess what, it’s too dark for me. 😀 Although it’s the second lightest shade, I can see the difference in the shade of my face before and after applying. It’s not so bad, but that is the reason I don’t use it as much.

Besides the wrong shade it’s a very good product. The quality is amazing, it blends like heaven and you can use it just like that, because it makes your skin soft, covers redness or spots and you don’t have the feeling of your skin choking on makeup. I really recommend you to try this product, even though it’s a little bit expensive (but still nothing that can’t be handled).

 

ultra sculpt & contour kit

Ultra Sculpt & Contour Kit

Ultra Sculpt & Contour Kit

Brand: Makeup Revolution
Shade: C01 Ultra Fair
Price: €4.45
Rating: 6/10
I used this a lot before I bought bronzer, highlighter and blush separately (see above). Now I use it only when I travel so that I don’t have to bring three different products with me.
The only thing in this kit I was completely satisfied with was the bronzer. The colour is flattering, pigmentation is good and it lasts quite long.
The problem with the highlighter is that it’s too… bright? Sparkly? Too visible? I don’t know. But when you apply a small amount on your face, it appears too shiny and glowy, which isn’t always appealing.
The blush would be fine, if it wasn’t (again) so shimmery. And even that would be fine, if the colour didn’t fade away during the day, leaving only gold dust on your cheeks. I mean, I really really like the colour and I think it’s perfect for summer due to its golden undertone, but the fact that the pink will disappear just like that *snaps fingers* is just not right.
But this is just my opinion and I’m comparing this with my blush (Catrice), highlighter (Dermacol) and bronzer (Rimmel), which are way better than this one; I acknowledge that many of you might like it and be totally comfortable with everything I see as a con.

 

lasting finish 25h foundation with comfort serum

Lasting Finish 25H Foundation

Brand: Rimmel London
Shade: 100 Ivory
Price: €9.6
Rating: 10/10
Firstly: What is a comfort serum? I’ve never heard about this, but it must be awesome to have something like that on your face.

Let’s appreciate the fact that it has SPF 20 and lasts 25 hours. I’ve never really tried the lasting part, but I can see that after whole day (that means about 12 hours) the foundation is just like in the morning, maybe a little smudged (that’s around lips, because I eat and drink; or nose, because I blow it and some of the foundation just transfers on the tissue). However, it doesn’t get ever cakey or else. It gives you nice cover without having to apply thick layer of the product. I’ve tried another foundation by Rimmel London, I believe it’s called Match Perfection, but I found it too  liquid, comparing with Lasting Finish, which is more thick and applies more easily. I’ve never tried Wake Me Up foundation, though, so if you have some experience with it, let me know.

 

absolute nude eyeshadow palette

Absolute Nude Eyeshadow Palette

Absolute Nude Eyeshadow Palette

Brand: Catrice Cosmetics
Shade: Absolute Nude
Price: €4.99
Rating: 9/10
I’ve used this before I bought the Revolution one. It has six shimmery nude shades and a duo applicator (the brush and the foam one). The colours are very nice, but I feel like I need more of the product than usual to achieve a visible effect on my eyelids. However, that is not a big of a problem. I’ve already used almost all of it, as you can see, and since I have the Revolution palette, I use this just for traveling.

 

eye pencils

Eye pencils
From the up-left: S-he, I ♥ Smokey, Miss Sporty, NYC, Essence, Gabriella Salvete
Eye pencils
From the left: Gabriella Salvete, S-he, S-he, Miss Sporty, I ♥ Smokey, NYC
  • Mettalic eyeliner by Gabriella Salvete, shade 02, 10/10 (€4); I don’t use this as an eye liner – I cover with it my whole eyelid as it would be an eyeshadow and add some darker eyeshadow to the crease and outer corner of my eye. It creates very pleasant look!
  • Twin kajal pencil by S-he, brown and gold, 8/10 (€3)
  • Kohl kajal eye pencil by Miss Sporty, shade 002 Solid, 8/10 (€2.5)
  • I ♥ SMOKEY jumbo eye pencil by Essence, shade 01 Deep Black, 8/10 (€3)
  • Kajal pencil by Essence, shade 04 White, 9/10 (€2.6)
  • Kohl kajal eyeliner pencil by NYC, shade 001 Black Kohl Ink, 9/10 (€3.5)

 

eyebrow stylist

Eyebrow pencil

Eyebrow pencil

Brand: Catrice Cosmetics
Shade: 030 Brow-N-Eyed Peas
Price: €2.49
Rating: 9/10
I’ve used this pencil for about a year and I’ve been completely satisfied with it. It fulfills its purpose as an eyebrow filler. I even managed to buy the right shade, which goes well with the natural colour of my brows. However, I eventually realized I prefer powder brow kit (see below), because I feel like it looks more natural and casual, so I use the pencil only when I’m travelling.

 

focus & fix eyebrow shaping kit

Focus & Fix Eyebrow Shaping Kit

Focus & Fix Eyebrow Shaping Kit

Brand: Makeup Revolution
Shade: Medium
Price: €5
Rating: 10/10
As I’ve said before, this product works better for me than the eyebrow pencil. It’s well pigmented and applies easily. I use all three colours – usually according to my mood and also my hair. I dye my hair dark brown once in every three months, so when the dye is fresh, I use the bottom left colour, the darkest one. But now, my dye is quite washed off – that’s why I use rather upper right colour, or even upper left one. However, I don’t ever use the gel. I tried it only twice and I don’t feel comfortable with it. It is supposed to hold the shape of your eyebrows, but I just can’t stand the feeling of wet eyebrows. 😀 Otherwise great product. 😉

 

bb cream

BB Cream

Brand: Rimmel London
Shade: Light
Price: €8.4
Rating: 8/10
BB cream by Rimmel London is the type of product you use frequently in summer. It has the qualities of several products you would usually use: it primes, moisturizes, conceals, covers and protects, also minimizes pores in your skin. It is very light, which I find very beneficial, especially in the hot days, when your regular would slowly melt of your face. One disadvantage is the shade, which is “light”, but still too dark for my pale face. But that’s just my issue – there’s not a product fair enough to match my skin shade. 😀

 

liquid camouflage high coverage concealer

Liquid Camouflage Concealer

Brand: Catrice Cosmetics
Shade: 020 Light Beige
Price: €4
Rating: 9/10
This concealer was recommended to me by vonnie, who finds it very effective. It says it’s waterproof, but I haven’t tried that yet. (I feel like I need to do some sort of “Waterproof Makeup Challenge” and post the results, that sounds like fun. 🙂 ) I would have bought the shade 010 Porcellain, but they didn’t have it in stock. This shade works quite fine, though I will still buy the lighter one next time, just because I think it’s going to be less visible and more suitable for my skin tone.

It covers your blemishes very well and blends perfectly. Before this one I used a concealer in the stick, but the liquid form is much more effective and comfortable to use. I recommend you to give this a try, it’s worth it. 🙂

 

beauty blenders, makeup sponges

Beauty blenders, Makeup sponges

I’ve reviewed these two products in my other post, First time at Primark! (Primark Haul). Check it out here.

 

random single eyeshadows

Random single eyeshadows

I don’t even know where I got these. I know that the light square-shaped one is by Rimmel London, the other one I have no idea. They are a bit old and I use them only when travelling. The left one is light brown matt shade, which works well as a base eyeshadow colour. The Rimmel one is light beige shimmer shade, which I really like and works well also as an emergency highlighter.

 

studio lash eyeliner

Studio Lash Eyeliner

Studio Lash Eyeliner

Brand: Miss Sporty
Shade: 001 Extra Black
Price: €3.4
Rating: 7/10
I don’t ever use this, because I just suck at applying liquid eye liner. However, when I managed to apply it nicely, it lasted quite long, the colour faded a little, but it didn’t smudge at all. The reason I don’t use it is the applicator – vonnie is a master of lining her eyes, but I just find it very hard to draw a straight line without smudging it all over my face. Maybe if I used a different applicator, it would be better, but who knows.

 

a mirror

A Mirror

A Mirror

The last thing in my makeup bag is this mirror. I use it every day, even though I have a large mirror in one of the doors of my wardrobe. The problem is, that the window is right opposite the large mirror. That means I stand back to the window and the daylight doesn’t reach my face at all. That’s why I sit by my desk, facing the window and using this small mirror – to see the my face clearly in the true daylight. (Before it happened quite often that I looked quite different outside and inside and it freaked me out.)


So, this was all of the stuff in my makeup bag. What a long post! I hope you didn’t get bored. I worked on this for quite a long time – it surprised me how much makeup related items I have! Let me know in the comments if you have anything from these and how you feel about it, or even recommend me some of the products you love. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

3 thoughts on “What’s in my makeup bag | Makeup Review

Leave a comment

