Am I too sensitive?

I’ve been thinking how people’s behaviour and voice tone affect my mood, my opinions, my everything. I realized I get upset quite easily. When someone says something rude to me, it hurts; I try to suppress the pain, but it rarely works. The pain depends on the relationship between me and the person, or even on the hierarchical role of the two of us.

To give you example, today I had to call a person, who takes care of the entrance exams at the Masaryk University. I had some questions about the date and time of enrolment and some things I didn’t understand. She picked up and I started to introduce her into my problem. She didn’t even let me finish and started to yell (well, not really, but she was loud and her voice was rude) at me that all of the information is to be found on their website since the end of June. (It wasn’t, I looked yesterday.)
Blah, blah, blah.
It took five minutes to get the info I needed from her. When I hung up, I was so upset about her behaviour I burst into tears. After few minutes of crying, I thought: “Why am I crying? The woman was rude, I was polite. I did everything I could. It’s not my fault I don’t understand something. I asked nicely. Am I too sensitive?”

Leave a comment

