Waffles with Yummy Stuff

I love waffles. They are like pancakes, but maybe even better. Good for breakfast or snack or when you just have a sweet tooth and need to eat something delicious right here, right now. I used to eat packed waffles made in factory, but they have a strange taste (and that’s probably because they are made to last long, but still) and I’ve had enough of them, so I started to bake them at home, nice and fresh. I have a time-proven recipe, which never failed me, check it out below.

for cca 8 waffles You will need:

300 g plain flour (or all-purpose flour)
60 g icing sugar
20 g vanilla sugar
6 g baking powder
80 g butter
3 eggs
3/8 l milk
rum (optional)
cinnamon (optional)
waffle iron

serve with:

fruit of your choice (I used nectarines)
sour cream or thick yoghurt
cinnamon or cocoa powder


Sift the flour and icing sugar so that it doesn’t contain hard lumps. Put all the dry ingredients (flour, icing sugar, vanilla sugar, baking powder) in a bowl and mix well. Heat butter in the microwave until it melts and add it together with eggs and milk to the same bowl as before. (You can add a bit of rum and cinnamon, if you want.) Mix well. I like to use a hand mixer to blend everything together. Besides, it breaks the rest of the lumps that may be in your waffle mixture.

Turn the waffle iron on and before you do anything else, use a bit of butter to make sure the finished waffles can be removed easily and don’t get burnt. Pour the mixture onto the iron and close the lid, but not firmly! The waffles are going to expand and if you closed it, they wouldn’t have the space for expansion and would get burnt.

Meanwhile chop the fruit to small pieces.

When you use all of the waffle mixture and the waffles are finished, you can begin decorating. Grab a spoon and spread the sour cream or yoghurt on the waffles, then add pieces of fruit and finally sprinkle with cinnamon or cocoa powder. (I used sour cream, nectarines and cinnamon.) And they are ready to eat!
My tip: Serve with iced coffee! Yummy!

Published by

Natalie K.

I am a girl in her twenties from Czech Republic. I study Italian and German at Masaryk University in Brno, where I live as well. I am obsessed with tea and vanilla ice cream, haha! I love books, blogging, Disney and of course my two adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies.

2 thoughts on “Waffles with Yummy Stuff”

Leave a comment

