Lasagna the “My Way”

Hi! So, if you’ve read my previous post When Fear Controls My Body, you know that I’m making lasagna today! Lasagna is one of my big loves in terms of dishes. It’s an Italian pasta meal and there are some proper ingredients which are supposed to be included (such as large flat-shaped pasta, which is in one piece and creates a whole layer itself), but I want to show you the MY WAY of preparing this deliciousness (so you won’t see any large flat pasta, I’m sorry).

I have never eaten other than this kind of lasagna (well, if you don’t count the one they served in a school canteen, which eh wasn’t very good). However, I would love to go to some Italian restaurant and have this dish in a proper way, following the original recipe and just how Italians do that.


Takes about 30-40 minutes to cook.


You will need:

Ingredients

350 g Tagliatelle (or any flat wider noodles)
500 g Mince
200 g Edam cheese
350 g Napoli sauce
300 g Spicy sauce (any that you like; I use the one we call “Cikánská omáčka” – it’s basically a tomato purée with cucumber, onion, vinegar, pepper and spices in it)
Basil, Herbes de Provence
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp cooking oil (that’s maximum, you can use less)


Grab a pot, fill it with water and add salt in it. Boil the water and then add the Tagliatelle. Let it cook for about 8 minutes and stir regularly.

Meanwhile pour the cooking oil on a pan (the deeper pan the better) and put the mean on it.

Check the pasta!

While everything is cooking, grate the Edam cheese (use the side of the grater with wider holes).

Check the pasta! It should be finished by now, so drain the pasta and leave it for now.

When the meat is done (it should be brownish colour), lower the heat and pour both sauces on the pan (that’s why it should have high rims to fit all of this in there). What I like to do is that I pour a little bit of water inside the jars, close the lids and shake them to get really all the sauce, then pour it on the pan. Leave it on low heat. It’s basically cooked, now we need it to be only warm.

Preheat the oven to 190°C (the degrees are not as important – it’s only to melt the cheese, everything else is already done and cooked).

Now I’m using a glass baking bowl and making layers of pasta and the mixture of meat and sauces, starting with pasta (I usually make five layers – three of pasta, two of meat).

When you’re done layering, you can put the grated cheese on top and then sprinkle it with basil and herbes de Provence.

And finally, put it in the oven for a while (until the cheese is melted).

Voila!

Published by

Natalie K.

I am a girl in her twenties from Czech Republic. I study Italian and German at Masaryk University in Brno, where I live as well. I am obsessed with tea and vanilla ice cream, haha! I love books, blogging, Disney and of course my two adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies.

Leave a comment

