I’m Officially a Freshman! | Brno, Czech Republic

Hi! If you follow me on Snapchat (nandaisapanda), you’ve probably noticed that I traveled to Brno recently (20th – 22nd July). It was because of the enrolment for my uni – I had to be there personally and sign a few papers and hear out some info about the studies. And since Brno is located over the whole country (5-hour journey by bus), my mum had a brilliant idea to make the most out of it. So I grabbed my boyfriend and we went on a short holiday. :)

 

Day 1: Wondering around the City

The journey itself was quite nice. I read the Joy magazine, watched Pitch Perfect 2 (my usual go-to when I’m travelling, haha) and even had a little nap.

After we checked-in in the hostel we were staying in (which was really nice, so was the receptionist), we looked up some restaurants nearby, because it was past lunchtime and we were hungry.

I had delicious penne with broccoli and cream, yummy! (However, at that moment I was tasting my boyfriend’s French fries, haha.)

Then we went to the Liberty Square, where we visited Brno astronomical clock. It’s supposed to look like a bullet, but citizens of Brno tend to call it “Brno penis”. (Don’t know where they got that idea, haha.) An interesting fact is that every single day at 11 am a small glass marble rolls out of one of the holes in the clock. Finders keepers.

The next stop was at Špilberk castle (or “Špilas”, as locals call it). The castle itself wasn’t much of a fun, because there wasn’t really anything interesting inside. Only some art exhibitions. We didn’t even go in.
What really got me was the large park surrounding it. Trees, benches and grass everywhere. Very peaceful atmosphere. No noise. You could just sit down in the grass and relax (which we did).

When we walked out of the park, we were just wondering around the city, not really knowing where we were going. It was so romantic. We bought a cheap red wine and some snacks for the dinner end ended up playing Never Have I Ever.

 

Day 2: My Uni and ZOO

Right in the morning I had to go to the Faculty of Arts, where my enrolment took place. It was very sunny morning that day, so I didn’t mind going on foot. The people at my faculty were so nice and helpful, especially the current students.

I came back to the hostel, changed quickly and we took off to have a lunch. I had a Quattro Formaggi Pizza if you’re curious.

We spent the rest of the day at the local ZOO. I love animals, bears especially, therefore this was the most exciting part of our trip. (However, we had a bad day, because the bears were hidden inside their houses, because it was damn hot outside.)

Both of us got a yummy ice cream right by the entrance to the zoo.

Then it started raining…
This reindeer was like “No photos, please” as he hid behind these trees immediately when we approached him.
This was so cool, because you got to walk through the territory of the cute little kangaroos! There were two metres of distance between us, I could almost touch them…
And there’s Brno, in the distance

Tiny Frog
My boyfriend found this tiny frog. How cute is that?
We had to go back for the leopard, because I really really wanted to see it.
What are you doing there, peacock?!
We weren’t sure what the name of this river was. (Now I know it’s Svratka.)
Pretty tired after the zoo…

 

Day 3: Bye for now

The morning on the third day was more of a packing up and then leaving. We stopped for a breakfast at the bakery, which was opposite the hostel, and then, with our luggage, went to the bus station.

I was pretty tired when I got back home, but excited as well, because the day after was the day wondervonnie came over and we had a girly sleepover. (There’s gonna be a post at the end of this week .;) )


And where have you been this summer?


I hope you enjoyed the post, I really apologise for it being late. Have a beautiful sleep!

Published by

Natalie K.

I am a girl in her twenties from Czech Republic. I study Italian and German at Masaryk University in Brno, where I live as well. I am obsessed with tea and vanilla ice cream, haha! I love books, blogging, Disney and of course my two adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies.

Leave a comment

