Furry Little Beasts | Puppies

Hi! So, I have some exciting news for you! I am kind of late, because it would have been “news” a week ago, but: Last Wednesday my doggie Bayonne gave birth! Read more for the whole story…

It all started this autumn, when Bayonne finally got pregnant. (We tried last spring as well, but without success.) Our vet then said there was at least eight puppies inside her belly. (Yay!) My mum cried with happiness. 🙂

The lucky father’s name is Écaille Anunnaki – a handsome male Rhodesian Ridgeback of a light brown fur. I couldn’t be present by the breeding process, but my parents and the owner of Écaille then told me that Écaille clearly fell in love with Bayonne. The owner said “I haven’t seen him look at any female dog like this. He is devastated every time you leave.”, which is so cute! 🙂

We had an option to create our own breeding station, but we realised it would be more simple to just use the station Lion’s Dark, which belongs to the owner of Bayonne’s mother. That’s why our puppies are now litter “H”.

Here’s a poster of Bayonne and Écaille.

It was quite funny how Bayonne used to be such a slim lady, but now she gained weight very fast and became quite fat, haha. Here are some pictures of her before the birth:

The hypothetical date of birth fell on 3rd December. I hoped for her not to be early, because I wanted to help with the delivering and I wasn’t coming home until 2nd December. However, my sister texted me “Bayonne is giving birth!” on 30th November. That was quite disappointing.

I was worried a bit, because the birth took too long. Usually it’s one puppy per an hour, but this birth took incredible 26 hours. My parents were exhausted. Nevertheless, there weren’t only eight puppies, but twelve! Nine boys and three girls – however, two of the puppies passed away (one girl and one boy), so the final count is ten. 😦
The last puppy was delivered the next day on the way back from the vet, which was quite surprising, because nobody knew there was another one!

Here are some photos of the puppies. We gave them colourful strings to be able to tell one from another. The pink one and yellow one are girls, the others are boys.

Two of the puppies are not show quality (that means they have some physical dysfunction like badly grown ridge or slightly crooked tail, and therefore they shouldn’t be bred so as not to spread the dysfunction; these puppies are cheaper as well). The others are perfectly fine.


I hope you like the puppies! I’m going to post more frequently now and give you some info about them growing up. 🙂 Bye bye!

Leave a comment

