Rice with Tofu and Veg | Vegan Meal

Hi! Although I’m not a vegan (I love cheese too much for that), I occasionally treat myself with vegan food. There’s nothing wrong about vegan food – it both looks and tastes very good. And it’s also a pleasant change, when you don’t want to eat anything heavy on your stomach. Here’s a tip on what you can prepare yourself. I present you my today’s lunch…


Now, before I’m going to share the preparation process with you, I want to quickly make sure you understand what vegan means.
Vegan people are the people who don’t consume or use products involving animal farming. That means they for example don’t consume meat, eggs, cheese, milk, chocolate, ice cream etc. The only case when they eat this stuff is when it’s produced using only vegetable resources. That way they can drink soya milk, eat tofu, houmous (also hummus), vegan ice cream or chocolate, or even vegan meat!

This may seem a little odd and unattractive, but believe me – I’ve tried soya milk, tofu and houmous and it tastes so good!


You’ll need:

tofu (I like using natural tofu, but you can also find flavoured one)
rice
vegetables (I used peas and corn, but you can use whatever you like)
spices (I used curry, but again – use whatever you like)

This is very simple: cook the rice in a boiling water according to the instructions on the box. In the meantime, dice the tofu and put it on a hot pan (use butter or oil for frying). Sprinkle the tofu with spices and fry it. When the rice is ready and the tofu is fried, you can add the vegetables on the pan, just to warm it up.
Mix it all up and voilà – you have a nice light meal.

Note: You can add a bit of butter to the mixed meal, just to soften it up a bit. I like to do that, because that way it’s less dry.

 

Enjoy! ;)

Published by

Natalie K.

I am a girl in her twenties from Czech Republic. I study Italian and German at Masaryk University in Brno, where I live as well. I am obsessed with tea and vanilla ice cream, haha! I love books, blogging, Disney and of course my two adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies.

Leave a comment

