Glasses vs. Contacts | Advice

Hi! Did you know that more than 60 percent of the population uses some sort of vision correction? That means more than 4.5 billion of people uses glasses, contact lenses or other vision correction products. It is also known that there are more women using these than men. The most used vision correcting product are definitely glasses, comparing to contact lenses. I have experience with both of them and I’d like to give you some advice…

I presume that most of us blind people started with glasses. I got my
first glasses at the age of eight or nine. Firstly it was kind of cool, but I’m not going to lie: as my glasses were getting stronger and stronger, wearing glasses started to bother me. I couldn’t lie down and watch a film, because the glasses kept poking me in the head. But when I took them off, I obviously couldn’t see the film. Annoying.
Now, however, I love my glasses and I wear them very often. And my life is much more simple, because I can change between wearing glasses and contact lenses when I need to.

Anyway, here are some pros and cons of wearing glasses:

What is not cool about glasses:

  1. First thing, which is quite clear, but important: you have to wear them, or you won’t see anything.
  2. You have to clean them. Every. Single. Minute.
  3. You can’t lie down wearing them.
  4. Walking from outside into a heated up room is awful, because your glasses mist up immediately.
  5. The same thing with drinking hot beverages.
  6. You must be careful with everything, so as not to break them.
  7. Rain and snow are the worst enemies. Cleaning. Cleaning. Cleaning.
  8. Going to the cinema to watch a 3D film. This activity requires to put the 3D glasses on your glasses. Someone doesn’t mind, but I remember it made me feel uncomfortable.
  9. You can’t wear sunglasses.
  10. When you lose them (or you forget where you put them), you probably won’t find them without anyone’s help.

However, what is quite cool about glasses:

  1. Fashion accessory.
  2. They are quick and easy to put on and take off.
  3. You can wear them every day, all the time.
  4. They don’t make your eyes tired. (Mostly.)
  5. They are quite cheap and last long.
  6. You don’t need to worry about where to keep them – you can just take them off and put them, well, anywhere. (Unlike contact lenses – with them you have to bring the case with solution with you to keep them wet and clean.)

I found these recently on Buzzfeed. They are jokes and situations very common for people wearing glasses. Some of them are hilarious, haha. Check them out here and here.


Another totally different thing are contact lenses. I started wearing them a year ago and firstly my life got much easier, but then I started realising all the disadvantages as well. Don’t get me wrong – contact lenses are a great invention and I love them, but you have to consider a few things…

What is not cool about contact lenses:

  1. Remember: contact lenses are not a suitable option for anyone. Some people’s eyes just can’t stand them.
  2. Their lifespan is limited. Mostly they last one month, but you can buy week-lasting contacts, or even day-lasting ones. After expiration you MUST throw them away, or you could be dealing with some serious eye damage.
  3. You can’t wear them in the swimming pool. The moment you would open your eyes under the water, they would just pop out and be lost forever.
  4. You have to take them off every single day before going to sleep.
  5. You have to clean your hands before manipulating with contacts.
  6. They are much more expensive than glasses, together with the solution, which you need for keeping them.
  7. They make your eyes tired, so it’s good to change to glasses from time to time. (This happens to me quite often.)
  8. When something happens with the lens in your eye, you could get some eye disease or even damage it. (This happened to both me and my best friend. Her lens just broke inside her eye and the infection got in. (She’s okay now, don’t worry.) My lenses were okay, but the infection got on one of my lenses and that way caused me conjunctivitis. Painful, but quite easy to heal.)
  9. They are not very easy to put on or take off, comparing to the glasses. (Well, at least when you’re a beginner.)
  10. When you want to take them off, you have to put them into a clean case with solution. They can’t be left just like that, otherwise they’ll dry out and become unusable.
  11. When you lose a lens, you’re doomed, because there’s only very small chance of you finding it.

However, what is quite cool about contact lenses:

  1. You are suddenly able to wear sunglasses. (Or 3D glasses for that matter.)
  2. Doing your hair and makeup is much easier, because now you can actually see yourself in the mirror.
  3. You can rub your eyes whenever you want.
  4. Weather is not a problem anymore.
  5. The same with hot temperatures and steam.
  6. Very comfortable to wear, once you get used to them. (It took me one week, now I don’t feel them at all.)

So, I hope you made your opinion on whether it’s worth it for you to try contact lenses or you’ll just stick with good old glasses. If you want to know my opinion, then I say you should try contacts (if your budget and lifestyle allow it, of course). You can go for one month and then stop using them if you’re not satisfied.

And if you decided to go for it and try contact lenses, I’ve got some tips and tricks for you:

  • If you can feel something’s wrong with your lens (dust, a bit of mascara etc.) and you don’t have your case with solution with you, just put the lens in your mouth and clean it with your tongue (DON’T SWALLOW IT!). It may sound gross, but the liquid in your mouth (yeah, spit) is similar to the liquid on your eyeball, so it’s okay to clean the lens this way.
  • Pay attention to your energy. This happens to me a lot – the more tired I am, the dryer my eyes are and that means that the lenses stick to my eyeballs very easily. Not only it hurts like hell to blink, but it’s also hard to take them off.
  • When buying a solution, look for the one which cleans the lens from proteins. Yes, your eyes excrete proteins and it’s not good to keep them on your lenses.
  • Buy a hand sanitizer in pocket version – that way you can manipulate with lenses with clean hands wherever you are.

That’s all from me for now. Have a nice day and bye bye!

Leave a comment

