Relax Your Mind with ASMR | Advice

Everyone needs to relax. To get lost a bit. Letting your thoughts scatter and just turning off for a while will make you feel so much better. I’d have to know, because I always find time for myself during the day. Even if it’s only ten minutes. But it’s my time – no school, no chores, no “what I need to do after”, just me.

This time, although it may seem like it, is not wasted. Just the opposite: it helps you recharge, brighten your mood and better the concentration. So it’s especially useful when you’re learning for finals (like I did) or when you need to work efficiently.

I realize people prefer different ways of relaxation. They listen to music, read, write, sleep or do yoga. And one of them is also something called ASMR.

The abbreviation ASMR is for autonomous sensory meridian response, which may not ring a bell, but something so simple as the Wikipedia gives comprehensible explanation:

ASMR is a tingly experience characterized by a static-like or tingling sensation on the skin that typically begins on the scalp and moves down the back of the neck and upper spine, precipitating relaxation.

How this feels might be like walking outside on a cold night and your hair stands on end from the cold.

So basically it happens when you hear certain sounds, which are called triggers. It may be someone softly talking or whispering, brushing their hair, turning book pages or else. ASMR can be also triggered by receiving personal attention (such as roleplay ASMR videos).


The easier way to get these tingly sensations is by watching YouTube videos specialized in ASMR. There are plenty of kind, for example:

  • roleplay videos, in which the author gives you personal attention, such as barber, doctor or makeup artist roleplays
  • soft spoken videos, in which the author is speaking to you softly, but usually does not whisper; typical are Q&A’s, hauls, life updates, unboxings,…
  • whispering videos
  • eating or cooking videos, in which the author prepares a meal and then eats it – the mouth sounds may trigger ASMR
  • reading videos, which are almost identical with soft spoken ASMR, but in this case the author is reading you a story
  • massage videos; the author is massaging someone (usually back massage or head and face massage) – the sounds then make you feel like you’re the one being massaged
  • tingle videos, in which the author uses several objects’s sounds to trigger ASMR

My first experience with ASMR was when I was little – me and my dad would watch TV and he would always brush my hair, which I loved. I think hair brushing is one of the most common triggers.
The ASMR videos themselves I discovered not long time ago, actually. First I was kind of freaked out, because I had no idea there’s such thing as ASMR; I was like “Why the hell is that woman whispering?!” and thought it was actually quite creepy. But then I looked it up and suddenly it made sense. I started watching more videos, exploring what the ASMR has in store, and finding it very relaxing. I realized it even helped me study.


I understand it may be confusing for many people, therefore I see the internet asking the same questions over and over again… (e.g.)

1. Can anybody experience it?

Sadly, no. They can’t. And that’s probably the reason why the ASMR is so misunderstood. It just weird some people out, because they don’t get the sensations or it even annoys them.

2. Is it a sex thing?

Well. This is the most common question, besides “What is ASMR?”. Some people refer to it as “brain orgasm” and it has been previously considered something sexual or inappropriate (and it probably is nowadays as well). The truth is I don’t really know if it has something in common with sexual orgasm, but I don’t feel it that way. I consider it two different things, that may be similar a bit, but are not the same.
Imagine some professional giving you a massage. Is it sexual? Of course not!

3. Why do certain sounds make me uncomfortable?

That’s simple. Like I can’t stand cherries, but most people love them, you may not like some kinds of ASMR. Giving you an example, most people don’t really enjoy mouth sounds (which includes eating or cooking ASMR). You have to just explore to find what’s relaxing for you. 🙂


Lastly, I’d like to recommend you my favourite ASMRtists (yeah, that’s what they’re called):

asmr
One thought on “Relax Your Mind with ASMR | Advice

Leave a comment

