Bridget Jones’s Diary | Review

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

Published: 1996 (this edition in 2001)
Genre: Humour, romance, for women
My rating: 5/5
Goodreads rating: 3.74/5
Would read again: Yes

I wanted to read this book for a very long time, because I loved the films and it’s just a classic. In addition, I’ve heard great reviews about the books and Helen Fielding herself. I made a mind note Read this asap! and so when I got the first two volumes as Christmas presents, I opened the first one in excitement, making a New Year’s resolution read one book a month (or at least read more than I do now) at the same time. And so I brought it with me everywhere and read it when I had a chance – in public transport, during breaks between lectures or before going to sleep. And let me tell you, this book can pull you out of your daily depressions and low confidence moments really fast!


If you don’t know the story of Bridget Jones’s Diary and you want to, you can read an abstract on Goodreads, where you can also check out more reviews, ratings and info about the author. (No spoilers.)


Honestly, since the time I thought I could maybe read the Bridget Jones’s Diary, I was very unsure if I should actually do it. My experience with stuff labelled as humorous is rather disappointment, because I only like certain type of humour – I detest the vulgar or sexist or embarrassing one, because I don’t find it funny. I just don’t and it even makes me uncomfortable. And let’s be clear here, there’s plenty (maybe even too much, but that’s just my opinion) of this type of humour everywhere and not always you are able to detect it. That’s why I rather avoid humorous and concentrate (in terms of books) on genres that don’t let me down – thrillers and fantasy.
But.
When I opened this book and read few sentences, I somehow knew that this will make me happy and grinning. The fact is, that Helen’s humour is very gentle and well served to her readers. So, don’t you worry, it’s safe for those of you with so sensitive soul like mine.

I’ve read it in English, which is usually not a problem for me, but I must admit I had to look up some of the words, especially those used in colloquial expressions, which I am not familiar with. But it was okay, because it’s situated as a diary, so it’s obvious it contains this type of language. Moreover, I think Helen Fielding handled it perfectly, because she rarely uses pronouns. That way she creates that informal and personal touch to it.

The thing I was at first quite confused about were the relationships of the secondary characters, because Bridget just somehow spills them out, leaving you in “whaaat” about who is who. But, as I’ve read through the book it all became clear eventually, so no big problem.

I loved the character development of Bridget. She is just so lovely written, so believably and accurately. I especially liked the summary at the beginning of every diary log – her weight, calories in total, cigarettes smoked etc., her New Year resolutions, which she don’t really keep (really, do any of us, haha) and justifies herself by making more and more excuses and it just feels so realistic, because it’s what people do on a daily basis, if you think about it.

To be honest, when I read first few chapters, I thought “my god, she’s dumb”, but then I just felt so sorry for her, because some of the disasters that happened to her weren’t even her fault and it was just a bad luck. :( So that’s why I celebrated every single positive thing she achieved and I was so proud of her, haha.

Seriously, I can’t come up with any negative quality of this book, because I loved it so much. It ends kind of open, which I usually don’t really enjoy, but Helen’s written it very nicely. This book made me feel this nice soft feeling, which you get when you finish a good book and you’re just all “sigh, what a good book”. (Does this happen to you too?)

Published by

Natalie K.

I am a girl in her twenties from Czech Republic. I study Italian and German at Masaryk University in Brno, where I live as well. I am obsessed with tea and vanilla ice cream, haha! I love books, blogging, Disney and of course my two adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies.

Leave a comment

