Things That Make Me Happy

When I was in high school I tended to stress a lot for several reasons. The main one was the school itself, of course. I was so concentrated on getting good grades, that every time I got a bad one I was near a mental breakdown, kind of. I blamed myself for not being smart enough and that is what I wanted to be – smart, because it was the best trait you could have when studying at grammar school. I was so blinded by everything that I had to do, that I didn’t really enjoy life itself. I got overwhelmed by every little problem, every little thing got to me immediately and I felt horrible.

But then, after some time, I started to reconsider everything in my life. I ended up thinking what a fool I was to let these things pull me down to the bottom. And I started enjoying little things and not worrying about the trivialities that would normally bring me to sadness or anxiety. That way I became calmer and happier. I don’t get annoyed when the queue in front of me is moving slowly or angry when I keep dropping things on the floor. Instead I just say “oops” or “aw, poor shop assistant lady, she must be having a bad day”. And if you’re one of the persons who gets boiled up easily, try this: breathe in and out a couple of times and say to yourself, that everything is alright and it will be – it’s just a queue after all. It’s not worth it to be irritated because of it.

In honour of this enhanced mentality of mine, I decided to put together a list of things that make me happy. Just to show you that there’s tons and tons of potential happiness around you. Everything you need for it to be shown is to take a deep breath, calm down and look around…

Things that make me happy…

Dew on the grass in the morning, because it looks like pearls and the grass looks so fresh and nice.

Walking in the grass barefoot, because it is heaven to put your shoes aside for a while and enjoy the feeling of every soft straw on your feet.

Hot tea, because it’s very calming and comforting. And there’s nothing better than thick socks, a good book and a cup of tea.

When people are happy, because I like putting others before myself and it gives me joy to help them. I love when people are smiling and happy. And even though I sometimes can’t be a lot of help, due to my lack of empathy, I am still trying so hard to make a difference in how they feel.

Waking up fresh and energised, because I can’t imagine a better start of the day. I have slight sleeping problems lately. Basically even though I sleep for more than 9 hours I still feel exhausted when I wake up. And so when I’m blessed with a quality sleep and wake up fresh and full of energy, it’s a pleasant surprise for me and I am determined to be productive and make use of the new day.

Running, because I like doing something for myself. In addition, running is good when I’m stressed out or when I need to study – I give myself a break and go for a little run and then continue studying; It increases my memory abilities, because I am fresh and my mind is empty.

When someone appreciates my work, because my personality leans rather to low self-esteem and thinking that nothing is good enough. And so it brings me great joy when someone pats me on my shoulder and says “You did this right! Good job! I love your work here!”.

When my boyfriend compliments my appearance, because, let’s face it, this would just bring redness to everyone’s cheeks. And my boyfriend doesn’t compliment me out loud very often, so every time he says I look sexy or this piece of clothing suits me, I’m in heaven.

Cuddling with my dogs, because my two Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies always can tell whether I’m sad or having a bad day. I don’t know how they do that, but they come to me and put their head onto my leg or shoulder and lay by my side. I love them for that.

Doing my makeup (and actually having all the time in the world to do it), because I love cosmetics in general and I enjoy making myself “pretty”. Don’t get me wrong – it’s no problem for me to go out bare-face, but I love the creativity the makeup brings with it. I love playing with colourful eyeshadows and eyeliners and then admiring my work in a mirror, haha!

Cooking and baking, because I love learning how to cook new meals or bake new desserts. Of course it’s more fun when I’m cooking/baking with someone else, but still – cooking in general is such a relaxing activity, don’t you think?

Giving presents to everybody and then watching their reaction, because I love making others happy and I love seeing them being happy (as I’ve said like million times before).

Smelling freshly washed laundry, because washed laundry is one of the soft scents, if this makes sense…? I love soft scents. Another one is sandalwood scent, that I like as well. And I recognised that freshly washed bed sheets make me fall asleep faster and the sleep itself is deeper.

Cleaning with music on, because I can lip-sync and it’s so much fun! I used to hate cleaning when I was younger, but lately I always tune on my Disney playlist on Spotify and sing all of my favourite Disney hits, haha!

Doing girly things, because it frees me from all of my worries. In my view, every girl needs to just turn off and do this silly lady stuff now and then – trying on a new makeup, planning outfits, shopping, going for a coffee and feeling fabulous. And if you can do these with your best friend, that’s even better!

and lastly…

Not worrying. It must sound so cliché and obvious, but realise this: forget about all the work you need to get done yet and just enjoy yourself a little – go for a walk, read a book or listen to music. Doesn’t it feel good?
Sure it does.
And it’s important to be able to enjoy yourself. I do that every day – every day I save myself an hour or two for just relaxing or going in for my hobbies. It’s important, because otherwise you would go crazy from all the work and assignments. So take time and use it for yourself.

Being happy and relaxed is crucial in these days. The modern population is always rushing somewhere, busy building a successful career and not realising it’s not even able to have fun anymore…

I hope you took something from this post. Love life, you have only this one and it’s oh so short. Be happy, because no one is going to make up for those lost hours spent worrying. Remember that and have a wonderful day!

Things that make me happy, relax, stop worrying, life, happiness, enjoy yourself
Published by

Natalie K.

I am a girl in her twenties from Czech Republic. I study Italian and German at Masaryk University in Brno, where I live as well. I am obsessed with tea and vanilla ice cream, haha! I love books, blogging, Disney and of course my two adorable Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies.

6 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Happy”

  1. What a great, happy, positive list! I do NOT like cleaning, but I’ve recently re-discovered the joy of listening to my high school favorite on Pandora. It makes the job go faster, and much more pleasantly! :)

    Like

  2. I’m also trying to concentrate on the little things in life. It makes me really calm and flexible as a person. I have learned to appreciate the little things because I have traveled around the world. When traveling, everything doesn’t always go the way that I planned and it has made me a calm person. :) It was nice to read your list!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I am delighted with you guys having the same thoughts and feelings! It is surely important to appreciate what we have and what we’re getting – even tiny bits. Thank you for commenting, I’m glad you liked this post. xx

      Like

  3. Natalie, I found your blog and I read this post, the title called my attention. I have to tell you that I have felt identified with your words. Sometimes the world spins in haste but many times our mind spins more quickly and we fall into stress and anxiety with ease. I also try to enjoy the moment, although sometimes it costs me. I also like to give myself time to exercise, give me time to cook my food and especially wake up fresh and energized (I have to say that since I opened my store, every day I wake up with more energy). Keep writing, I love reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

